What’s next you ask??

Well folks, the summer is over, and this is the question I ask myself. What’s next? After taking the summer off in lieu of finishing my MFA, I’m ready to get back in the studio. However, a few things happened over the summer that I want to share with you.

1. Three of my prints were accepted in the exhibition, “Under Pressure” at Shiftspace Gallery at Wichita State University. The exhibition is up for August and September. From the press release via University of Pennsylvania MFA Forum:

Under Pressure consists of a full range of approaches in print media, from the traditional to the experimental. Printmaking has a strong basis in tradition, both as a fine art medium, and as an essential area of technological innovation for the dissemination of text and images. Old approaches to printmaking have been challenged and enriched by the introduction of digital and photographic media, and by artists producing work that integrates print media with other approaches. These new uses and understandings of printmaking have re-defined the very notion of what a print is. The exhibition consists of MFA students and recently graduated MFA students that can add to this complex dialogue in printmaking, and who have a vision that reaches beyond traditional practices. Whether by presenting traditional processes in a new light, or by pushing the conceptual or technological limits of that which can be considered printmaking, work submitted addresses the printmaking tradition in new and innovative ways.”

2. I’ve changed positions within the Fibers Deptartment at SCAD!  After 5 years of being the Administrative Assistant to the Chair of the Fibers Dept, I have transitioned into the Studio Technician position.  What does this mean to me and what does a studio tech do??  Well, it means I have less paperwork to shuffle, and I can use my brain in a way that I hope will contribute more to the fibers department and how it functions.  I will be in charge of various studios and its equipment.  (among many other various responsibilities)  I’m very excited for this job change, and am looking forward to working in the department in a new capacity! 😉

New Goals (simplified):

1. Buy a memory card reader so my camera will upload on my computer.  I haven’t been able to upload pics for almost a year!

2. Finish the stitching I’m working on now, so I can get back to printing.

3. Start working on the house renovations again.

4. Post more on my blog.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What’s next you ask??

  1. angray20

    yay! congrats on the show! nice to see you back on the blog!

Leave a Reply

