Home Improvements

Well, dear readers, sorry I haven’t checked in for a while. Life has sent me a curve ball to deal with. My HVAC died last weekend, and I’ve been dealing with the difficult company that installed it. It has been a lemon ever since it was installed 3 years ago, and the one mechanic who’s opinion I trust has given the first diagnosis that make complete sense to me. I need to have all the duct work redone and a larger return installed because they are too small for the unit, and it is creating to much “static” and causing the unit to run too hard. It is very frustrating, and even though they are “giving me a good deal” by only charging me “cost” it is still costing my $2000 that I don’t really want to spend right now. I’ve tried my best to get it done free, since I really believe that they should have recommended that I replace the ducts in the first place, but they won’t back down. I originally chose a better unit for the budget I had based on not needing to replace the duct work that was already there. Arggh!

Anyway, what I am getting at is that I am not able to spend time renovating the room that I planned on. I have been spending this time DEEP cleaning my house and cleaning out my attic to make room for the HVAC unit to be moved. I figured that I should go ahead and have the unit moved since my attic is big enough to renovate into a room. I don’t have the budget to do that now, but I will eventually, so I might as well go ahead and do the duct work as if I did. I believe in doing things right the first time even if it is a little more money.

So that’s my story. In a way it is feeling really good to get this done. I’ve been wanting to clear out for so long. I’ve found a lot of Christmas presents for family by going through the boxes of things that have been special to me, and now I can pass them on to people who will appreciate them and give them a new life. Thankfully, I do not have a materialistic family who want “new” Christmas gifts, and they will appreciate what I give them no matter what. We always recycle gifts, so, if I don’t quite peg them right with a gift, there is no hard feelings if that gift is passed on to someone else later on.

Below are pictures to share with you.

This is the stairwell leading up to my attic. I live on the second floor of the house. It was built in 1905 and renovated into a duplex in the 20s during the depression. I rent out the bottom floor. It has been completely renovated, but I am still working on my unit (very slowly). The hallway has not been touched yet, except to clean. Yes, I have been living with the awful chocolate brown trim. Some day….

I’ve been bring boxes down from the attic to the empty room I was supposed to be renovating. Actually, I’m glad I have a space to do the organizing. A blessing in disguise. I have 4 piles going: garage sale, give away, keep, and trash.

Here is the attic.  The picture was taken standing in the area that will eventually become a room. The entry door is only 5 feet tall, so this gives you an idea how big it is. The tallest point at the peak in the middle is about 10 feet. It will have an angled ceiling, but I think it will still be a comfortable bedroom some day.


This view is look at where the room will be. As you can see, I still need to insulate. This is on my long list of things to do, and perhaps will be done next winter. We’ll see. So, this is how I’m spending my vacation. The HVAC mechanic asked me “who talked you into buying this house?” I was a bit offended. Some people just don’t have the vision or perseverance to make their dreams come true. How could he not see this diamond in the rough?I don’t get it.

Have a merry Christmas everyone. I probably won’t check in until after Christmas as I am going to Charleston to spend it with family.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Home Improvements

  1. Is the jerk mechanic who asked who talked you into the house the same one who installed the HVAC? We remodeled a sad, sad, house over three years, and many times were given the excuse that it was the house that kept them from doing it right. I dunno. That’s just a long way of saying I totally understand your frustration and I wish you good luck sorting all this out!!

  2. Thanks, Heidi! The mechanic works at the same company, but started his job there after I had the unit installed. I discovered him when I was having trouble with the unit a few years ago. Now, I ask for him whenever I have the unit serviced. He’s a really nice guy, so I don’t hold his comment against him. I guess I can’t expect everyone to be creative types like us! 😉

Leave a Reply

