Winter Break

The quarter is over, and I am ready for a break from my crazy schedule. I’ve decided that I’m not going to commit to anything this break. If I feel like working in the studio, I will. I probably will since I’m working on some new ideas, but I’m determined not to feel guilty if I don’t.

I also really want to spend this break renovating a room in the house. For those of you who don’t know, I own a house that turned 100 years old this year, and I’ve been renovating it very slowly over the past 4 1/2 years.  Since I started graduate school, this project has been put on the back burner for over 3 years.  Most of the main rooms have been renovated, so I’m very comfortable here, but really the project is only half done.  There are 2 rooms in the house that still need to be worked on (among other things). The small office space and what used to be my studio before I decided to rent a space away from the house. My old studio turned into the “catch all” room, so I’ve decided it is time to reclaim this space as usable space. So, this is the room I’ve decided to work on. Below are the before pictures that I took a few minutes ago. Pretty messy, huh? It is time to make it a nice space.

It’s hard to see in this picture, but it has popcorn ceilings. After I get the room cleared out, the first thing I will do is scrape this off. It’s a real pain, but worth it in the end. Today, I plan on slowly clearing out this room. It will probably take all week. Even though school is out for me, I still have to work full-time.

2 Comments

Filed under Studio Practice

2 responses to “Winter Break

  1. vrolli20

    I really like the photography of your home studio. It would be neat to possibly merge these with your older photographs.

  2. Hi! I haven’t stopped by here in a while. Good luck scraping that popcorn off! That’s a sign of true love.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

