Daily Photo Collages: update

Most of the fabric collages that I’ve been sharing with you, are experiments of compositions and subjects.  The photo images you see with the fabric are just xeroxes of the original photos.  I work this way for ideas only.  Since I’ve been wanting to actually carry some of these ideas to a finished work, I’ve been wanting to refine my process of how I’m going to translate these collages to the fabric.  So, in my studio practice, I’ve also been working on process experiments of transforming the photo to fabric.  After many trials and errors, I think I have finally figured out how I want to do it and have gained control of different looks and contrasts of the image, but since this blog is not about process, I will not go into detail.  Thus explained, my post today, will be another peak into my daily collages.

I appreciated a comment by my friend Virginia today about leaving an art work open for interpretation as to bring more meaning to it.  So, since I am looking for concept in each work I do, today, I will not share my own opinion, so as not to taint yours.  So, my questions to all of you:

What do YOU think these collages mean? I would love to hear YOUR interpretation.

Do you appreciate hearing the artist’s concepts of an artwork? Or, do you prefer to bring your own meaning to a work?

PLEASE, comment. 

2 Comments

Filed under Artwork in Progress, Collage, Inspiration, Memory, Photo, Sketchbook, Studio Practice, Trace

2 responses to “Daily Photo Collages: update

  1. vrolli20

    Anna,

    I am really enjoying your last study. Your repetition of clustered bodies as motif is really engaging. You have created balance and great sense of movement.
    It took me a minute to finally realized that you cleaverly placed the family in foreground while the negative space reveals their original stance. Now, I read this as only a few seconds have passed since the family took a step forward. You have a wonderful sense of playing with the dimension of time in these photos. By having a few things interpreted the same, you can play with other things that change the meaning. It could be that you have common threads or a signature to your story lines.
    I was thinking after I posted the last time that you are a story teller… You are having to hook your audience with the first picture just like the first line in a book. Also, in a book you establish characters, plot, pinnacle point, and then a beautifully wrapped up conclusion. Always remember that one form of information is feeding the other. Thus if you started towards the beginning of your narrative with this picture, you may establish with your audience that negative space means a character had once been in that spot. Now, let’s say you had a character named Johnny (who has a distinct silhouette to easily identify in your pictures) was depicted as having been in a spot that is now negative space. What is Sue (another ficticious character in your tale) going to think about Johnny’s having once been there when he wasn’t supposed to?
    There is another word that comes to mind for your work and that is Surrealism.

  2. DEar Anna

    I’ve found your blog through design sponge. Because I make collages too i was interested in visiting your work and I’ve liked all you do very much. These game between fabric and photo you do wery well.
    About your question, if an artist nedds to talk about his work or not, I mean, he must do it sometimes, but not every time. If people are really interested in your work, they will know what’s behind all this. But I think we must not explain our work all the time.

    But, beside this, I love your work. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

