A New Studio

Well, renovations are over.  I actually made a comfortable space to create my artwork and do my thinking.  There is still more I could do, but it will have to wait until my next break between classes.  We get 6 or 7 weeks off after this quarter, which will be a good time to refine the space.  Also, after I’ve worked in it a while, I will have a better idea of what sort of changes are necessary.  I’m really going to love having everything in one place.  Comments are below each picture.

I took out the dresser that was used for storage and hung up shelves instead.

This picture is is going around the room to the right.  The table is in the middle of the room.  Notice the closet on the left.  This is my new linen closet.  Picture below.

I love my new linen closet. It is such a better use of space.

This is moving around the room to the right.  This was the corner that had that clunky gray utility shelf.  The corner table and shelves hold all of my dye stuff, and will be a workspace for other things when I’m not dyeing.  I made the table for screenprinting about 6 years ago, however, it is used as a surface for many other things as well.

Every studio needs to have a comfortable chair for sitting, reading, reflecting, and thinking.  This red is not really super comfortable, but it will do.

To the right of my red thinking chair is my sewing station.  This is the area that I’m not completely happy with.  I want to eventually install shelves like the others to get everything off the surface of the table.

Lastly, I left one big blank wall to hang up work on when I need to see it from far away.  The boards hanging up high on the wall is the wood I use to make my stretcher frames.  I wanted to store these off the floor, and thought this was a good solution.

So, now I’m ready to get started in the studio!

I probably won’t post on Saturday like I usually do.  I have a commitment early evening that day.  So, my next post will probably be Sunday.  Have a great week!

7 Comments

Filed under Studio Practice

7 responses to “A New Studio

  1. Looks wonderful. I notice you got pretty new curtains too. I’ll excited to see what creations come now.

  2. what a great space! do you ever get visitors? 🙂

  3. Sara, I don’t get many visitors, but not because people are not invited. I would love a visit!

    Anna

  4. Studio looks awesome, very comfortable and functional.

  5. Pingback: Art Studio: The History of My Creative Place in Savannah | Anna Keck – Creative Thinking

  6. Hey there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m planning to start my own
    blog soon but I’m having a hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

