Reflection

I went out of town so quickly after my class ended, I haven’t even had time to reflect on the comments I received from my fellow peers. A quarter has ended, and I’m left sad that the class is over, as we really had a great group of people for creative support. For the final critique I displayed all of my daily task photo collages from the whole quarter. There were about 65 of them, and seeing them all hung up as a group was very rewarding. I also hung up the two pieces below, but most of the critique was focused on the collages, since I was most excited about these. I like the two below, but I’m not as excited about these, and I have grown detached to them already. They are for sale if anyone is interested. 😉

Comments from peers about my daily collages:

  • They have a humor and mystery about them.
  • The ones with silhouettes and elements taken out are appealing.
  • The obvious collages are more effective.
  • There are elements of surprise.
  • The fabric is bringing these photos back to life.
  • There is displacement of the environment and a push of figure and ground.
  • There is manipulation of the story by the way I’m working with the subject.
  • Try using more recent photos (in black and white) with the older photos.
  • Use photos of current family.
  • Look further into calm versus fast-paced life.
  • Put yourself in the collages with your family. Maybe self portrait style. Your own past with your family’s past.
  • Use your own collection of friends and family to tell your own story.

Lastly, my favorite comment was the suggestion to organize these collages into my own themes, and see what comes out of it. For example:

  • Collages with figures cut out.
  • Collages with horses.
  • Collages with friends.
  • Collages with family.
  • Collages that have humor.
  • Collages that show manipulation of scale.
  • Etc…..

What is next?

  1. Organize the collages into themes. I want to see how many themes I can come up with and see what I respond to.
  2. Continue reading about the history of the county in NC where this side of my family are from. I found a great resource web-site, Documenting the American South, for this sort of information. They have a book that can be read on-line that takes place in Alamance County. It is called Alamance; Or the Great and Final Experiment, by Calvin Henderson Wiley. It was written in 1847, but the story takes place 75 years earlier. I’m really excited to see what sort of inspiration comes from reading it. Also, on this site are oral interviews from the late 197os of some of the older folks who’s families are from there. I’ve listened to a few and the interviews seem to focus on people who worked in the textile mills in the early part of the 20th century.
  3. Continue to experiment with using my collection of the antique linens.
  4. Experiment more with layering fabrics, and cutting back fabrics to reveal lower layers.
  5. Incorporate dyes and screenprinting again to see what happens.
  6. Use bubble jet set with the antique linens to print the photos in my desk jet printer to see how that looks.

This piece is about remembering friends. The two in the circle are the from the past, and they are fading away from memory. There is a slight dark side to this piece with the playful and evil temptress luring the girl in the coat to the forgotten land. Detail is below.

Detail

Friends are honored in this fabric collage. Each one carries a yellow flower, bonding their unforgotten friendship.

Detail

I apologize for the color difference in the details. The overall view was photographed and the details were scanned.

This week I will be focusing on setting up my studio. For the last 2 years, I have been working out of my studio at school, and my studio at Allied Studios. It has become quite frustrating dividing my supplies and equipment, thus I have decided to move everything to Allied Studios. I’m not really set up there for wet work such as screenprinting and dying, so I need to work out some of these issues before my next class starts in just over a week. I’m really looking forward to working in one space.

1 Comment

Filed under Artwork in Progress, Collage, Inspiration, Memory, Photo, Sketchbook, Studio Practice, Trace

One response to “Reflection

  1. Im sad we wont have class together but I cant wait to see what you will be doing next! Humor and personality definitely show through in your work and I love your layering of fabrics and images.

Leave a Reply

