Studio: More Studies Using Old Linens

Today I spent the morning playing with two fabric collages. With my guiding statement, “friends are chosen family,” in mind, I decided to focus on figures who (I think) were friends of Maw Maw Keck, my grandmother. It is hard for me to use my collection of old linens for “studies”, so I decided to think of these two collages as more “finished”. The pictures below are in progress. I used xeroxes for the images to figure out placement, but I think I’m going to do some sort of image transfer on fabric with the photo pieces, and then embellish with some hand embroidery. What do you think?

M=memory

I have no idea who this woman is. She could be a friend of my grandmother. The people sitting down and eating are family from my grandmother’s side. One of the big things I remember about visiting my grandmother, is how much food she would make for us. She would make enough food to feed an army. We would eat leftover’s for days. We would always eat on the picnic table on her screened-in porch. My grandmother house was not air-conditioned, so it was usually too hot in the house after cooking all that food, so it made sense that we ate outside.

#1

#2 and #3

I just played around with compositions to see what I liked best. Which one do you like best? I know I won’t be using #3.

Next weekend I will be going out of town, so I would like to work on hand stitching on these. This will be easy to take with me. (So, next week I will post on Sunday or Monday, instead of Saturday.)

The second half of my studio day: RESEARCH

I decided to do my paper on my family. I’m using old newspaper clippings that my grandmother saved as my research. Most of them are obituary’s but there are a few articles as well. The obituary’s really helped me figure out where to start my research on line. Thankfully, there are other distant relatives that have shown a great interest in family history and I found a great website that gives many details of the Folgeman history. You can view it here. Fogleman was my great grandmother, Minnie Sharpe’s maiden name. I was able to track the Fogleman name all the way back to the Fogleman who came across the ocean from Germany.

The Fogleman lineage is as follows:

My great grandparents: Minnie Eugene Fogleman Sharpe (b. 1884, d. 1978) and Arthur Monroe Sharpe (b.1882 d.1964)

My great great grandparents: Nancy Jane Fogleman (maiden name unknown) (b. 1848, d. 1931) and Joel Albert Fogleman (b. 1848, d. 1938)

My great great great grandparents: Polly Garrot Fogleman (b. 1818, d. 1913) and Ludwig Fogleman (b. 1807, d.1878)

My great great great great grandparents: Mary Albright Fogleman (b. 1790, d.1815) and John Fogleman (b. 1782, d. 1846)

My great great great great great grandparents: Anna Margaretha Fogleman (b. abt. 1755, d. unknown) and Peter M, Sr. Fogleman (b. 1755, d. 1819)

My great great great great great great grandparents: Catherine Cutriss Gotz Fogleman (b. abt. 1722, d. unknown) and George Fredrich Fogleman (b. 1721, d. 1785)

My great great great great great great great grandfather is believed to be Micheal Fogleman (Vogleman was used in Germany). Though evidence of this is not concrete.

I tried to do the same thing with the Keck name, but I just reached dead ends. Most of this information is attributed to the records of Lowe’s Lutheran Church. I think most of these people were christened and buried there.

8 Comments

Filed under Artwork in Progress, Collage, Inspiration, Memory, Photo, Sketchbook, Studio Practice, Trace

8 responses to “Studio: More Studies Using Old Linens

  1. really? #3, with the horse was my favorite. I like the contrast in size between the horse and the other images, and I like it that it bridges the space between the evenly placed and symmetrical lozenge shapes. And I love, love, love the vintage needlework with those futuristicky lozenge shapes in a vintagey color, by the way.

  2. I too am a big fan of Design Sponge, and check it often. I run an on line e-zine about Canadian textile and fibre art and wish you were “one of us” your work is great.

  3. How do you want your guiding statement “friends are chosen family” to reflect in your work? Do you want the viewer to feel that or is it more of a category for this work to belong? #3 is an interesting composition, I like difference in scale between the figures, dont write it off so quickly 😉 I am interested to see how the images transfers will look on the fabrics.

  4. Your ideas are creative and lovely. I could see a whole exhibit being displayed with these collages. It’s a great way to explore the past, as well as creating something new. Your central intent “my friends are my chosen family” is a nice way to unify the work.

  5. Janet

    Have you done any genealogical research from original documents (census records, death records, church registers)?

  6. Anna,
    I just stumbled upon your blog and was stunned and amazed. So much, that I made you my feature for Today’s Creative Blogs.
    http://todayscreativeblog.blogspot.com

  7. Anna… have you tried printing directly onto the linens? basicially it’s ironing the freezer paper onto fabric, trimming it to printer size and then printing onto the fabric. the paper stiffens the fabric enough to fee through the printer. it’s simple and turns out very well and detailed.

Leave a Reply

