Design*Sponge

Hey Everybody,

I heard back from Grace Bonney today, (creator of design*sponge) and she is going to mention my blog on her site tomorrow (July 27, 2007). So, now the pressure is on to explain who I am and what I’m doing to people who don’t know me and my work. Hopefully, her mention will bring some fresh eyes and perspectives to my comment section. Feedback is ALWAYS welcome.

Who am I and why did I start this blog?

Well, I’m a graduate student getting my MFA in Fibers at Savannah College of Art and Design. My focus in the program is fine art. This quarter, I’ve really been struggling with coming up with the concept of what I’m working on. I’ve been using my family photos for a while now, and I’m trying to dig deeper and figure out why I am so drawn to these photos. My studio practice at the moment are experiments to get to something deeper. The work you see on my blog so far, are all experiments and exercises in my notebook and studio…sketches, of sorts, to get me closer to the root of my ideas. I’m net there yet! šŸ˜‰ I usually check in on Saturdays and post what I have been up to for the week. I would love for you to come back and visit to check my progress. Hopefully, I’ll have some! Thanks for visiting…and please comment!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Design*Sponge

  1. Melissa

    Hi there,
    Just saw your work on Designsponge and think it is fantastic! As I am opening up my own little brick and mortar shop this time next year in Jersey I am compiling a” dream list” of folks I would love to have in the shop. Please keep me posted on your work and if you will end up doing wholesale. I would love to have your work in there and in my own home someday! All the very best and thank you for your beautiful work.
    Best,
    Melissa

  2. hey

    your work is great, I wouldn’t say that is the best blog ever, there are some others that aren’t so product heavy and are more in depth.

  3. Stephanie

    I love your work. Its very interesting and fresh.

  4. ali

    I’m a big fan of your work so far! (via DesignSponge.)

    I too am drawn to old family photos. An English major, I wrote my favorite paper/project about some old black-and-white family photos that single individuals had been literally cut out of: just empty silhouettes were left where people were supposed to be. It was a bit haunting and also intriguing, and so visually interesting that I included photos in my essay.

    Keep digging! You’ll figure it out! In the meantime, keep up the good work.

  5. I think your work is delightful. I’m going to look up the meaning of photogravure right after I make this comment. I enjoy seeing how you work with photographs, paint, all the mixed media. Wonderful stuff.

    I’m from Georgia too, metro Atlanta area. If you have a chance, check out my page: http://mariacristina.wordpress.com

  6. Susan Jonsson

    I have just started working with my family photos too….I feel compelled to do so…. I am working with photo transfers, embroidery….mixed media …. Your work is original and very inspiring to me. I will stay tuned and hope to learn from your journey as I am exploring my own. Thank you for sharing your art.

    susan

Leave a Reply

