Arrowmont School of Arts And Crafts – 20th Anniversary Reunion/Retreat

I have a new adventure, fast approaching, that I’m very excited about! Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts is having a 20 year anniversary of the Artist-in-Residence program that they offer.  To celebrate, they have invited ALL of the previous residents over the past 20 years to participate in a reunion/retreat!  (Yes, that’s right, I was invited because I participated in their program as a resident artist from 1994-95.)  Arrowmont is hosting 5 days of creative collaboration and full use of their studios!  They are even housing and feeding all of us!  How generous is THAT?  (very)  It looks like it will be just above 50 participants according to the last count of attendees.

Arrowmont has organized several different collaborative ideas for us, as a place to start from, and we are asked to choose our top 2 choices.  My choices are:

1.  Create a large format print project. Or a print edition.

2.  Each resident to bring a small personal hand-made object (size restriction) to be embellished and or responded to by other participating residents and staff.

Most (or at least the successful ones?) of these collaborative projects will be donated to Arrowmont and either be sold at fund raising auctions, or added to their permanent collection.

My personal goal for this experience is EXPERIMENTATION using a printmaking press.

Even though I have taken a printmaking class in the past, at the time, I was not using my current process of mono-printing.  Since I’m using stitched fabric as my printing plate, and I work in my home studio (which doesn’t have a print press), I had to develop a way to print without a press.  (I create the pressure using bricks and books.)  My printing plate (stitched fabric) sits under pressure with the paper substrate for days.  This helps to achieve some of the texture in my prints.  I am also printing with inks used for drawing and painting instead of traditional printmaking ink.

Taking this process to a printmaking press will change what mediums I can use for my mark making….I know this.  This is what I’m most excited about! 

Inspiration for my Arrowmont project has begun!

In most of my work, I use old photographs for my inspiration.  I have mostly worked with family photos, and I usually create collages with them to create a new composition.  You can see some of the collages I’ve done in an old post here.  Doing these collages lead me to my current working process, which you can also read more about here.

The history of Arrowmont is interesting and goes way back.  You can read more about it here.  ” Thanks to a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, Arrowmont’s rich history has been preserved in digital format with fully searchable archival materials including letters, diaries, photographs, and scrapbooks.” (from Arrowmont’s website) These can be found here.   When I discovered this resource, I was ecstatic!  What a wonderful way to begin my research for my print edition!

OK, that is it for now, but I will be posting some ideas in more detail in future posts leading up to the retreat, which will take place from May 14th – 18th.  (next month!) Thanks for stopping in to see what I’m up too!   Here is a little eye candy taken from the scrapbook section of this website:

5 Comments

Filed under Inspiration, Memory, Photo, Studio Practice, Trace

5 responses to “Arrowmont School of Arts And Crafts – 20th Anniversary Reunion/Retreat

  1. Pingback: Collage pick #1 – Arrowmont Reunion | Anna Keck – Creative Thinking

  2. Pingback: Arrowmont Inspired Project | Anna Keck – Creative Thinking

  3. Pingback: Arrowmont Resident Artist Reunion – Experience | Anna Keck – Creative Thinking

  4. Pingback: Collage pick #1 – Arrowmont Reunion | Anna Keck

Leave a Reply

